IMG_0303.JPG
Kona, Hawaii; September 2011

I’m revisiting parts of this post today to see how my 2016 unfolded and if it kept true to any of the insights I had when the year began.  Sidenote: I love this gal’s blog and mission, which is where I found this Vision Guide to help start my year off right.  Her workouts are accessible, effective, and uplifting (I’ve completed all of her challenges at least twice).  Take a moment to check out her stuff – it’s great!


Based on what worked or didn’t work in 2015, what lesson did I learn?

I am at my best when I: read, sleep, have a rhythm to my days, am learning something new, carve out space and time to be alone, nourish my body with delicious & nutrient-dense foods, and ask for help before the crisis hits.

This insight still rings so true with me twelve months later.  These rhythms of wellness are so critical for me to be able to truly engage and thrive in my own life.

One step I’ll take to improve my health in 2016 is:

Buy a greens powder mix to add to smoothies, like this one.

I didn’t buy a greens powder mix, but I did win a huge basket of products from this company when I attended a Birth Without Fear meetup earlier this year.  I’ve loved everything we’ve used so far and am bummed that the two protein mixes have run out. 😦  Our wonderful neighbors did give us some greens mix they had a few weeks ago when our whole family was under the weather which was so generous of them.  That mix has been added to some of our smoothies and we all like it.

One step I’ll take to improve my fitness in 2016 is:

Participate in the January Fitness Challenge.

Not only did I participate and complete the Challenge, I was asked to lead it in 2017!  Wow!  Apart from that honor, the Challenge helped me shed a clothing size and kickstart some healthier eating and self-care habits that have remained constant throughout the year.

One place I’d like to visit:

The San Diego Library’s downtown branch.

Done!  For my birthday weekend we visited and it was swoon-worthy, if slightly overwhelming..  Sigh.

One habit I’d like to break:

Listening to the lie that says, ‘You are all alone and no one is helping you.’

This lie is not as strong or believable as it was at the beginning of the year.  I actually was alone for some longer stretches as Scott traveled extensively, especially in the final three months of the year.  I’ve found that when I have to face a reality of my “worst fears” (in this case, actually being alone without any help) that there is a degree of breakthrough into truth in my mind and heart.  I also have tried to ask for help before or in the midst of a struggle, instead of slogging my way through it and then harboring resentment against the person who I thought should have aided me.  I’ve grown in this area but still have room for more victory.

One habit I’d like to create:

Tracking what I read.  I like this idea.

Done!  Over 100 books this year!!!  I also tracked what I started and didn’t finish, as well as how far I got into those books (like a fraction: 117/200 pages) in case I want to revisit them in the future I can pick up where I left off.

One relationship I’d like to work on:

With XXXX.

I love XXXX.  We are as opposite as can be when it comes to so many things, and yet I see faint glimmers of similarity as well.  There were flashes of progress throughout the year, but there is definitely space for growth.

My top three values in 2016 will be:

  1. Obey God’s voice.
  2. Love others.
  3. Nourish myself & my family.

These values were definitely present throughout my life this year.

Three ways I can make more time for these values:

  1. When I have a sense about someone or thing, mention it to Scott or someone else I trust so I am accountable to it.
  2. Make time and space for people to be in our lives – at meals, at our home.
  3. Provide a majority of nourishing foods with a minority of indulgent treats.
  1.  I acted more quickly on this step but I still hesitate because I don’t want to be presumptuous or judge-y.  I think I need to ‘practice’ listening to the discernment the Holy Spirit has given me and if I fail, at least I can do it in a safe place with a person I trust first before I act on what I sense.
  2. We had married couples over a lot to listen to their stories, ask questions, and encourage each other.  We didn’t host a lot of meals at our house but almost every night had other people at our table for dinner on campus.  There is a family that moved into our neighborhood recently that I want to get to know, so it’s a good reminder to see this value listed.
  3. I did really well this year with this value.  For the better part of the year I did not eat any added, refined sugar which is huge for me.  I slept better, felt better, and my emotions didn’t carry me away as much as they have in the past.  There are still some tweaks I would like to make regarding our day-to-day nutrition, but we are doing very well with what we have.

 

At the end of 2016 I will feel…

peacefully accomplished.

Well, it’s the end of the year and I do feel at peace and accomplished.  Imagine that?

 

I can barely remember the last time I stayed up until the strike of midnight on New Year’s Eve.  I doubt I’ll make it past 9:30 PM tonight.  After all, in the grand scheme of things it’s just another day, right?  Yet it’s healthy to pause, reflect, and recognize all that happened in 2016 and I’m glad that the year’s end prompts me to do just that.  While 2016 was challenging in many way, it also was one of my better years.  Here’s to a year that’s coming to it’s close and a year that’s just starting to unfold.

Leave a Reply

