380460_2464821535823_1125329858_n.jpg

It’s been raining.

For a PacNW girl at heart, it shouldn’t phase me.  Living in a sprawling city of 3+million people, linked by shaky infrastructure, unfinished roads, and nonexistent drainage systems, I start to panic.

Okay.  Maybe panic is a little too strong of a word, but any sort of precipitation can make things go crazy.  Our house leaks.  Streets flood.  Stores close.  Potholes become small lakes (that you have no idea how deep they are and just hope your car can make it out of them).  The power goes out.  Life is disrupted.

We spent a few hours yesterday morning without power, starting with screaming kids around 6:30 AM because the white noise shut off in their room, waking them up to pitch black darkness because the night light was off, causing them to commence said screaming.  We scrambled to find flashlights and iPods with white noise apps, and they settled down to rest a little longer before breakfast.  As I hurried to and fro in the dim light of the morning, I found myself grumbling about the rain and how inconvenient it is for our life.  Why can’t it just stay sunny?  We live in one of the most temperate climates on earth, after all.  Who needs rain when there’s an ocean of water right next door? (my complaining is obviously very unscientific.  ha!)

Finally, the kids were quiet.  I settled back on my workout mat to go through the final motions of my morning routine.  My mind began to calm and through the mental chatter, this thought suddenly rang loud and clear:

“What causes the most disruption in your life can often bring the greatest growth.”

It may not rain a lot where we live.  Technically, we are less than an inch per year away of living in the actual desert (then things you learn in homeschool…).  When the rain does come, everything comes to life.  After a storm passes, suddenly tiny green sprouts cover what used to be dry, dusty, empty plots of land.  The hills in the distance look like they’ve been sprinkled with green confetti.  Flowers bloom.  Plants stand taller.  Everything seems cleaner, brighter, and fresher.  All because of a little bit of inconvenient, disrupting rain.

That thought stayed in my head all day as we drove throughout the city and experienced first hand the challenges this wet stuff hands out when it decides to dump all over us.  I couldn’t shake the feeling that perhaps my life, with it’s ups and downs and twists and turns, could also be a place of significant growth because of (not in spite of) that very same principle.  Do I complain when my day is derailed and plans change?  Or do I shift my perspective enough to see the growth that is coming after the storm?

Besides, rain means puddles and puddles mean jumping and any day can be made better by a good stomp through the mud.

One thought on “When it rains, we grow

Leave a Reply

