…He has reconciled you to Himself through the death of Christ…He has brought you into His own presence, and you are holy and blameless as you stand before Him without a single fault.  But you must continue to believe this truth and stand firmly in it.

Colossians 1:22-23

This verse sums up a major battle in my relationship with the Lord – I don’t believe the truth.  I am holy and blameless, but I act and think like I am at fault and shameful.  I am reconciled to Christ, but I act and think like I need to earn my way into right standing.  I am in His presence, but I act and think like my behavior or emotions determines how close I can be to Him.

How do I belive and stand in the truth?

One way is to constantly expose myself to it.  Reading, listening, conversing…having it be a part of the rhythms of my life.

Memorizing scripture.  Replace the patterns of negative, false thoughts with infusions of truth.

Understand that it’s a truth – it exists and it can not be changed – but it’s a process, too.  Sort of like being married…a piece of paper says we are now husband and wife, but it takes a long time (throughout a lifetime!) to realize how to live as one.

I am holy.

I am blameless.

I am in His presence.

I am faultless.

I am reconciled.

I chose to believe and stand.

Leave a Reply

